Native Beer Musings


I came across this fascinating article thanks to Anat Baron (@beerwars) on twitter. I felt like sharing a couple of my thoughts:

– Native beer is very interesting and I think that the brewers mentioned in the article are doing exciting things. I have no idea how the beer might taste, but I imagine it’s worth drinking.

– These brewers, interesting and talented as they might be, seem to be missing a little bit of the point. Most Americans are immigrants, or descendants of immigrants. I love that our beer culture reflects that. Take Hollister Brewing Company as an example – In the same draft lineup you will find German-, Belgian- and English-style ales and occasionally lagers. None are native to these United States, but all of them are distinctly American.

Leave a Reply

