It’s Always the Right Time


IMG_0303

Any “job” that gets you incredible beers like Firestone-Walker’s XVII Anniversary Ale delivered to your doorstep is a good job. Especially when that beer comes a couple days before it is released to the general public. It makes me feel just a wee bit special.

It makes me feel special because it’s a special beer. It’s the kind of beer you can store in the back of your cellar where it’s nice and cool year round (OK – the fridge) for an epic vertical tasting years down the road, or you can drink it fresh. It’s a special beer because it’s about $20 a bottle, and that kind of expenditure is a serious purchase in the beer aisle. It’s a special beer because brilliant brewers teamed up with brilliant winemakers to make a perfect blend of a beer.

So, when is the perfect time to drink such a special beer? Surely, a beer like this deserves a special occasion.

Nope – when you open a beer like this, that is the special occasion. Such was the case last night, as my wife and I split the bottle after a nice home-cooked meal and a couple capsules of cold medication. And you know what? It was nice as hell.

This has been a public service announcement from your local beer blogger encouraging you to go to your fridge right now and pop open that beer you’ve been saving. Love it. You’ll be glad you did.

2 thoughts on “It’s Always the Right Time

  1. You could enjoy the beer despite your illness? I find my taste buds are usually shot when I sick so I take a break from beer until I’m well enough to taste, not to mention the utter non-funcitoning of my nose during a cold, and we all know odor has as much to do with taste perception as do the flavors themselves.

    • I could. I’m on the tail-end of this cold. Notice I’m not giving a very detailed description though. “it was nice” is about the best I can give. It really was nice though. I’m going to get a couple more bottles to save for those verticals I was talking about.

Leave a Reply

